The eXcruciatingly bad Factor

7 Oct

I feel your pain, Rylan.

Generally I am a positive person, who enjoys light-hearted entertainment with a large side order of cheese. I think going to the DJ and requesting Steps, S-Club7 and 5ive at a club is perfectly acceptable. To me,  Butlins is a totally legitimate holiday destination and I thoroughly enjoyed Rock of Ages and sing-along-a Mama Mia. Karaoke is one of my favourite past times. For my birthday I had a Eurovision Song Contest party. As you can see, I am easily pleased and I don’t take “entertainment” too seriously.

8 years ago, The X Factor crashed onto my television and I thought it was the best thing ever. It gave hope to people who (like me at the time) dreamed of being a pop starlet. I loved it when the new series started and always watched – I looked forward to the winter evenings drawing near, and curling up at home to indulge in this pop ritual. I loved the conversations at work on a Monday morning – “did you watch X-Factor?” (of course I had!) and the chat that followed. So it pains me to say this BUT…

I watched X-Factor last night and thought it was awful. Drivel. Out-dated trash. I don’t know if I am getting miserable in my old age or if it is genuinely rubbish, but I am no longer engaged by this display of drama. I hate how the editing forces you to feel the emotion they want you to – “This bit is SAD so listen to the SAD music and watch them all CRY and feel SAD” or “This bit is HAPPY so listen to the POSITIVE and UP-LIFTING music and see all these close ups of people SMILING” – quite frankly I found it exhausting.

Despite the loveliness of Dermot O’Leary’s face, I can not watch it any more. I guess I am going to have to find something better to do with my Saturday nights from now on…

Leave a comment